Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Book Review - The Beauty Bride (The Jewels of Kinfairlie) Book 1 by Claire Delacroix

Title: The Beauty Bride (The Jewels of Kinfairlie) Book 1
Author: Claire Delacroix
Genre: Historical Romance 
Publisher: Deborah A. Cooke
Release Date: November 8, 2014

About the Book:
More cherished than gold are the Jewels of Kinfairlie, and only the worthiest may fight for their love...The Laird of Kinfairlie has unmarried sisters, each a gem in her own right. And he has no choice but to see them all wed in haste.

Lady Madeline’s heart is not for sale...especially not to a notorious outlaw like Rhys FitzHenry. Yet Madeline’s hand has been sold, to none other than this battle-weary warrior with a price on his head. A more dutiful maiden might cede to the Laird’s command and meekly accept her fate, but Madeline has never been obedient. She decides to run away, though she never dreams that Rhys will pursue her. She does not expect this taciturn man to woo her with fanciful stories, much less that each of his enthralling tales will reveal a scar upon his shielded soul. She never imagines that a man like Rhys could imperil her own heart while revealing so little of his own feelings. When Rhys’s past threatens his future, Madeline takes a leap of faith. She dares to believe him innocent
— and risks her own life to pursue a passion more priceless than the rarest gem.

Buy Links: Amazon 

My Review:

I switched back and forth between the ebook and the Audible version of this story. The narrator in the Audible version was so incredibly good, I must say that I did more listening than reading, finding myself totally absorbed in Scotland and Wales in the 1400's. 

When Alexander, the newly made Laird of Kinfairlie, realizes that the funds in his realm are so low that he soon may not be able to feed those in his keep, he tries to convince his sisters to marry. But alas, the younger sisters would not marry until Madeline, the oldest of the sisters, weds. Her heart, however, belongs to James who is believed to have died five years ago.  Alexander cannot convince her to take a husband, so he does the unthinkable.  He auctions off Madeline's hand in marriage to the highest bidder, much to the surprise of Madeline. Things go from bad to worse when Madeline is purchased by none other than the notorious Rhys Fitzhenry. This is when the action starts! From runaway bride to hot kisses!

These characters were great! Madeline is spirited and strong, and Rhys is determined to make her his wife. There is action, romance, more action and more romance.  Loved it!  I can't wait to read more in this series about the other sisters.    

#BookReview, #TheBeautyBride

My Rating:

About the Author:

NYT bestselling author Claire Delacroix always loved stories, both telling them and hearing them. She sold her first romance novel - ROMANCE OF THE ROSE - in 1992 and has published over fifty romance novels since. She writes in a variety of subgenres, including time travel romance, historical romance, medieval romance, fantasy romance and fantasy with romantic elements. She has also written under the names Claire Cross and Deborah Cooke. She makes her home with her family, a number of incomplete knitting projects and a lot of overgrown houseplants. Claire loves to travel, to cook, to ride her bike and to read.

Claire is currently writing The Brides of Inverfyre series of medieval Scottish romances. She loves writing linked books and here they are in order:

The Bride Quest series of medieval romances:
1. The Princess - her first USAT bestseller
2. The Damsel - a USAT bestseller
3. The Heiress - a USAT bestseller
4. The Countess - a USAT bestseller
5. The Beauty - a USAT and NYT bestseller
6. The Temptress

The Rogues of Ravensmuir trilogy of medieval Scottish romances:
1. The Rogue
2. The Scoundrel
3. The Warrior

The Jewels of Kinfairlie series of medieval Scottish romances tells the stories of the next generation after the Rogues of Ravensmuir:
1. The Beauty Bride
2. The Rose Red Bride
3. The Snow White Bride
4. The Ballad of Rosamunde

The True Love Brides series continues with the family introduced in the Jewels of Kinfairlie. There are eight siblings all together, and these are the next four:
1. The Renegade's Heart
2. The Highlander's Curse
3. The Frost Maiden's Kiss
4. The Warrior's Prize

The Brides of Inverfyre series will include the story of the last sibling from Kinfairlie (Ross) as well as those of the children of the Hawk and Aileen (from The Warrior):
1. The Mercenary's Bride
2. The Runaway Bride (October 2018)

The Champions of St. Euphemia is a medieval romance series that has no connection to Ravensmuir, Kinfairlie or Inverfyre. It follows a group of knights from Jerusalem to Scotland and should be read in order:
1. The Crusader's Bride
2. The Crusader's Heart
3. The Crusader's Kiss
4. The Crusader's Vow
5. The Crusader's Handfast

Claire also published four stand-alone time travel or paranormal romances under the name Claire Cross. These have been republished as Claire Delacroix titles:
1. Once Upon a Kiss
2. The Last Highlander
3. The Moonstone
4. Love Potion #9

Claire has a Regency romance series in progress called The Brides of North Barrows:
1. Something Wicked This Way Comes (in the anthology Spellbound and on its own)
2. A Duke by Any Other Name (in the anthology Charmed at Christmas)

Claire also writes paranormal and contemporary romance as Deborah Cooke.

Visit Claire's website at: 


Post a Comment


The Novel Lady Published @ 2014 by Ipietoon