Wednesday, July 19, 2017

#BookReview - Any Dream Will Do by Debbie Macomber

Title:  Any Dream Will Do
Author:  Debbie Macomber
Genre:  Women's Fiction, Romance, Inspirational
Release Date:  August 8, 2017

About the Book:

Beloved bestselling author Debbie Macomber returns with a powerful standalone novel about a woman forced to start her life anew, embarking on the most courageous journey of all—to a place where she learns what love and trust really mean.

Shay Benson adored her younger brother, Caden, and that got her into trouble. When he owed money, Shay realized she would do anything to help him avoid the men who were threatening him, and she crossed lines she never should have crossed. Now, determined to start fresh, she finds herself in search of a place to stay and wanders into a church to escape from the cold.

Pastor Drew Douglas adored his wife. But when he lost her, it was all he could do to focus on his two beautiful kids, and his flock came in a distant third. Now, as he too is thinking about a fresh start, he walks through his sanctuary and finds Shay sitting in a pew.

The pair strike up a friendship—Drew helps Shay get back on her feet, and she reignites his sense of purpose—that, over time, turns into something deeper, something soulful, spiritual, and possibly romantic. Even Drew’s two children are taken with this woman who has brought light back into their lives. Perhaps most important, Shay learns to trust again as she, in turn, proves herself trustworthy to her adopted community.

But Caden’s return to town and a disastrous secret threaten to undo the life Shay has tried so hard to rebuild. It will take the utmost courage and faith if she and Drew hope to find healing and open their hearts to a brighter future.
Buy Links: Amazon 

My Review:

If I could give this 6 wine glasses, I would. This is a story of love, hope, faith and redemption.

When kind-hearted Shay makes a bad decision to help her desperate brother, she ends up serving three years in prison.  After being released from prison, she has little money, no job and nowhere to go.  Her bus drops her off in front of a church where she goes in mainly to get out of the cold.  Little did she know at that time that her life would be forever changed.  She meets Pastor Drew Douglas, who was dealing with the death of his wife three years earlier, and with raising his two children alone.  Although their relationship started as a friendship, Drew offers Shay the hope she needs to survive... in the form of Hope Center.

As Shay completes her commitment with Hope Center, her bond with Drew and his children deepens and the joy and love both Drew and Shay had not experienced for a long time grows stronger.  Shay begins to show her true self when she befriends two homeless men with steaming cups of coffee each morning and kind words.  It doesn't take long before more people begin to put her past where it belonged... in the past.  But when that past flares up in the form of her old boyfriend, things get heated.  And later, a matter of trust threatens to pull Shay and Drew apart.

Once again, Debbie Macomber created a heartwarming story with lovable characters and the ability to bring me to tears.

Disclosure:  A complimentary ARC was provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts, opinions and ratings are my own.
My Rating:

About the Author:
Debbie Macomber is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and one of today’s most popular writers with more than 200 million copies of her books in print worldwide. In her novels, Macomber brings to life compelling relationships that embrace family and enduring friendships, uplifting her readers with stories of connection and hope. Macomber’s novels have spent over 990 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list. Sixteen of these novels hit the number one spot.

In 2016, Macomber’s all-new hardcover publications include A Girl’s Guide to Moving On (February), Sweet Tomorrows (August), and Twelve Days of Christmas (October) and an adult coloring book, The World of Debbie Macomber: Come Home To Color (April). In addition to fiction, Macomber has also published two bestselling cookbooks, numerous inspirational and nonfiction works, and two acclaimed children’s books.

Celebrated as “the official storyteller of Christmas”, Macomber’s annual Christmas books are beloved and five have been crafted into original Hallmark Channel movies. Macomber is also the author of the bestselling Cedar Cove Series which the Hallmark Channel chose as the basis for its first dramatic scripted television series. Debuting in 2013, Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove was a ratings favorite for three seasons.

Macomber owns two businesses in Port Orchard, WA, the town which inspired the Cedar Cove Series. These include The Grey House CafĂ©, formerly the Victorian Rose Tea Room, featured in the Cedar Cove Series, and A Good Yarn Shop, introduced in her popular Blossom Street novels. They are located on the Village Square campus, which also serves as Debbie’s corporate headquarters.

She and her husband, Wayne, serve on the Guideposts National Advisory Cabinet, and she is World Vision’s international spokesperson for their Knit for Kids charity initiative. A devoted grandmother, Debbie and Wayne live in Port Orchard, Washington and winter in Florida.


Post a Comment


The Novel Lady Published @ 2014 by Ipietoon