Monday, July 31, 2017

#BookReview - The 13th Gift (A True Story of a Christmas Miracle) by Joanne Huist Smith

Title:  The 13th Gift (A True Story of a Christmas Miracle)
Author:  Joanne Huist Smith
Genre:  Holidays, Non-Fiction, Family
Release Date:  October 28, 2014

About the Book:

For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love.After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three children--especially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep with notes from their "True Friends." As the Smiths came together to solve the mystery of who the gifts were from, they began to thaw out from their grief and come together again as a family. This true story about the power of random acts of kindness will warm the heart, a beautiful reminder of the miracles of Christmas and the gift of family during the holiday season.

Buy Links: Amazon 
My Review:

"The 13th Gift" is not that big of a book, but it took me the entire month to finish it, even though I'm one of those readers who generally finishes a book in one or two days.  At one point, I listed this book as DNF (did not finish).  Why?  Because it started out so heart-wrenching that I was either getting really depressed, crying or getting really angry at the mother in the story.

This is a true story of how a family was dealing with the loss of the husband/father.  He had died at Christmastime the previous year, which made this Christmas very difficult to get through.  Then the gifts started coming.  Not expensive gifts, just simple Christmasy gifts on their doorstep with a mysterious note each day.  Gifts for each day of the twelve days of Christmas.  The family came together little by little, and began looking forward to the next day.

The sentiment and warmth that shows through in strangers and friends and the family as well, gives you the real sense of what Christmas is all about.

I can't say that I loved the book.  It was well written, but far too emotional for me.  I know that there are others who would find this heartwarming instead of heart-wrenching.

My Rating:


Post a Comment


The Novel Lady Published @ 2014 by Ipietoon