Saturday, August 18, 2018

Book Review - Season of Wonder (Haven Point Series - Book 9) by RaeAnne Thayne

Title: Season of Wonder
Author: RaeAnne Thayne
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Women's Fiction, Holiday
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Release Date: September 25, 2018

About the Book:

It’s a long way from New York to Idaho…but could they have found a home at last?

Dani Capelli has never truly belonged anywhere. And from her earliest days as a foster child in Queens, she would have been lost if it weren’t for her love of animals. Until high school, when she fell hard for the wrong boy, and found herself pregnant—and married—by graduation. Two daughters later, Dani realized her mistake and filed for divorce, and with the help of scholarships and loans—and a lot of macaroni and cheese dinners—she enrolled in vet school. Things were finally looking up…until her ex-husband became her late husband, in the most notorious way possible.

Now Dani and her daughters need an out-of-town pass more than ever. So when the retiring Haven Point veterinarian offers her a chance to settle in the small Idaho town and take over his practice, she jumps at it. But adjusting to the charming mountain community isn’t easy; thirteen-year-old Silver begins acting out while six-year-old Mia is growing tooattached to Haven Point and everything in it, especially their next-door-neighbor, Deputy Sheriff Ruben Morales. And Dani can’t blame her. Ruben is everything she’s secretly wanted—and everything she can’t bear to risk loving…and losing.

As the holidays draw near, their shared concern for Dani’s daughters brings them closer together, giving Ruben the chance to show this big-city woman just how magical Christmas in Haven Point can be...and that the promise of a home at last is very real in the most wondrous season of the year…
Buy Links: Amazon 
Available for Pre-Order - Release Date September 25th

My Review:

Although this is Book 9 in the Haven Point series, each book can be read as a stand-alone. But it's nice seeing some characters from previous books in this series too. It makes you feel like you know just about everyone in this small Idaho town of Haven Point.

Unlike many of RaeAnne Thayne's other books, this one took me awhile to really get into it. However, I must say that Deputy Ruben Morales made my heart go pitter-patter from the first moment he walked into the veterinary clinic. The chemistry between Ruben and Dani is instantaneous, but Dani's past keeps her at a distance and somewhat anti-social.  It takes a bad choice made by Silver, Dani's teenage daughter, to bring Ruben and Dani together.  My second favorite character was little Mia, Dani's youngest daughter, who could melt your heart in a flash.

Season of Wonder is a nice Christmas story.  Between the tree trimming, the boat parade, and the twelve days of Christmas secret plan, this was a nice light read for the holidays.

Disclosure:  An Advance Reading Copy was provided by the Publisher and NetGalley. All thoughts, opinions and ratings are my own.

My Rating:

About the Author:
I'm not one of those people who knew from birth she was destined to become a writer. I always loved to read and throughout my childhood I could usually be found with a book in my hands. To the disgust of my friends, I even enjoyed creative writing assignments that made them all groan. But I had other dreams besides writing. I wanted to be an actress or a teacher or a lawyer.

Life took a different turn for me, though, when my mother made me take a journalism elective in high school (thanks, Mom!). I knew the first day that this was where I belonged.

After I graduated from college in journalism, I took a job at the local daily newspaper and I reveled in the challenge and the diversity of it. One day I could be interviewing the latest country music star, the next day I was writing about local motorcycle gangs or interviewing an award-winning scientist.

Through it all -- through the natural progression of my career from reporter to editor -- I wrote stories in my head. Not just any stories, either, but romances, the kind of books I have devoured since junior high school, with tales about real people going through the trials and tribulations of life until they find deep and lasting love.

I had no idea how to put these people on paper, but knew I had to try -- their stories were too compelling for me to ignore. I sold my first book in 1995 and now, more than 30 books later, I've come to love everything about writing, from the click of the computer keys under my fingers to the "that's-it!" feeling I get when a story is flowing.

I write full-time now (well, as full-time as I can manage juggling my kids!) amid the raw beauty of the northern Utah mountains.

Even though I might not have dreamed of being a writer when I was younger, now I simply can't imagine my life any other way.

I love to hear from readers. You can reach me at my email address,

#BookReview, #SeasonOfWonder, #RaeAnneThayne


Post a Comment


The Novel Lady Published @ 2014 by Ipietoon